The day of Ajo Motorsport


Last Saturday at the ‘Cathedral of Motorcycle Racing’, Assen, the Finnish structure took their first double of victories in the World Championship in Moto3 with Red Bull KTM Ajo and Moto2 with Ajo Motorsport.


Saturday June 27th, 2015, was an historic day for Ajo Motorsport. It was the first time that the Finnish structure took two wins on the same day, in two different categories: Moto3 and Moto2. They are fielding a Moto2 team for the first time this season, and it took just eight races for their riders to achieve this great feat. Miguel Oliveira won the Moto3 race with Red Bull KTM Ajo and Johann Zarco took victory for Ajo Motorsport.

One of people most excited with the results was Team Manager, Aki Ajo: “Saturday was a very special, amazing day. It was a great joy to see two of our riders win their respective races. Both Johann [Zarco] and Miguel [Oliveira] had spectacular performances, also Brad [Binder] and Karel [Hanika] did a really good race; all of them are great riders with a lot of potential. We have to thank them for making history for us.

I still don’t know how to describe what we experienced. All I know is that without the great team we have and our partners -some of whom have already been many years with us- none of this would have been possible. We are a hard-working, professional team, made up of incredible people driven by a passion for motorcycles. I thank all of them for our achievements so far.

With the new team in Moto2 this year,  Ajo Motorsport make their debut in a new class after 13 years competing only in the lower cylinder categories of 125cc and Moto3. After eight Grands Prix, the structure’s two teams are in the fight for their respective World Championships. Johann Zarco currently heads the Moto2 standings, and in Moto3 Miguel Oliveira is third. Ajo Motorsport have previously won three World Championships: In 2010 with Mike Di Meglio (Ajo Motorsport, 125cc), 2010 with Marc Marquez (Red Bull Ajo, 125cc) and 2012 with Sandro Cortese (Red Bull KTM Ajo, Moto3).